Duty Sections of the Employer under the SHWW Act 2005

The duty sections of the Employer under the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005 are broken down into twelve different duty sections:

  1. General duties of Employers
  2. Information to Employees
  3. Instruction, Training & Supervision of Employees
  4. Emergencies and serious and imminent dangers
  5. Protective and Preventive Measures
  6. Hazard identification & Risk Assessment
  7. Safety Statement
  8. Co-operation
  9. Health Surveillance & Medical fitness to work
  10. Safety representative
  11. Employee Consultation
  12. Penalisation

Over the course of the next few posts, we will cover each section in more detail. It is important to remember that even though you may be a sole trader, you are still considered to be both an employer and employee and these duty sections are applicable to your business.

If you need help or assistance in managing health, safety and welfare in your workplace, please do not hesitate to contact us.